Amazon’s Quiet Customer Service

I often don’t see people extolling the virtues of Amazon’s customer service.  Maybe I just don’t read those blogs or maybe people are just contented enough not to bother writing.  Unlike Nordstrom which built its brand on service (even if prices were extraordinary), it seems to me Amazon’s service is a not often highlighted.

Two examples of where they get it right:

1) Last weekend we had a party and we ordered most of the groceries we needed from Amazon Fresh.  Upon unpacking I noticed a few things were missing (some kiwis, crackers and something else I’m sure we needed…).  I hit up their Customer Service email and true to form received an apology and credit within an hour.  But they didn’t stop there – another hour later I received another email again apologizing for the failure and this time, offering me a $25 credit for future purchases.  What was an expected response (crediting for the missing items) turned into a loyalty-building opp for them – and they took full advantage of it.

2) Carrie’s Kindle (my old, 2nd generation model) stopped charging yesterday.  I hopped on Amazon.com/kindle, had a rep call me (in under 30 seconds, btw) and we did very quick troubleshooting.  He told me to plug it into my computer and – ready for this – he’d call me back in an hour to see if that helped the problem.  How many other companies will call you back – and how many companies will do it on time?  Sure enough, an hour later, he calls, Kindle is still dead, so he says “is your current shipping address still blah blah?”.  Yep, I said.  They’d get a new one out to me…except then he noted it was out of warranty (by a long shot…).  Again, leveraging the power of good CRM, he is able to see I have three Kindles, spend at least $100 a month on books, and probably spend north of $10k/year at Amazon all-up.  Boom – “How about I send you a 2nd generation for $89 or I’ll give you $50 off a brand new Kindle?”  Deal.  They didn’t have to do anything.  The thing broke.  It was out of warranty.  They could have just said, “sorry sir, you’ll have to buy a new one.”

No negotiation, no prodding – just smart, simple customer retention.

Biggest bonus?  No annoying hold music or upsell messages.   Just a nice Mozart piano sonata.

Amazon – keep doing what you’re doing.  Stunning service that inspires confidence in knowing you’ll be taken care of when things go wrong will only cement customers’ loyalty for the long term.  I know mine is.

Leave a Reply

